Steps to Become a Registered Dietitian in Oklahoma


Follow the step by step process or choose what situation that best describes you:

  1. Complete a Bachelor’s or Graduate Degree in Dietetics
  2. Complete a Dietetic Internship (DI) in Oklahoma
  3. Pass the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) Exam
  4. Apply for State Licensure as a Registered Dietitian in SC
  5. Maintain your License and Registration as a Dietitian in SC

Nutrition Careers in Oklahoma

According to the Commission on Dietetic Registration, there were 1,153 Registered Dietitians (RDs) and Registered Dietitian Nutritionists (RDNs) in Oklahoma as of April 2022. The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that dietitians and nutritionists in the state earned an average salary of $57,460 as of May 2021. Early career professionals earned about $47,040, while late career professionals earned about $77,560.*

The Oklahoma Medical Board’s Committee for Licensed and Professional Dietitians states that dietitians are called upon to “apply and integrate scientific principles of nutrition pursuant to different health, social, cultural, physical, psychological, and economic conditions to the proper nourishment, care, and education of individuals or groups throughout life.”

Dietitians practicing in Oklahoma must be licensed, according to the state’s Registered Dietitian Act. If you would like to join their ranks and become a registered and licensed dietitian in Oklahoma, keep reading.

Step 1

Bachelor’s or Graduate Degree in Dietetics

According to the Oklahoma Licensed Dietitians Committee, you must complete a course of study in dietetics that results in a bachelor or graduate degree from a regionally accredited college or university. Your education must include an internship and a minimum of 24 semester hours in the following areas (or an equivalent course of study):

  • Food and nutrition
  • Human nutrition
  • Dietetics
  • Food systems management

The requirements are in line with the requirements set forth by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND), which require you to complete an ACEND-accredited course of study to qualify to sit for the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) exam and become a Registered Dietician (RD) in Oklahoma.

ACEND-Accredited Programs in Oklahoma:

There are two types of programs in Oklahoma that meet the requirements of the Oklahoma Medical Board are ACEND-accredited:

Coordinated Programs (CP)

Coordinated programs (CPs) are programs that include both a course of study leading to a bachelor or graduate degree and supervised practice of at least 1,200 hours. Upon completion of a CP, you are eligible to sit for the CDR exam and earn the RD credential, which is a requirement for becoming licensed as a dietitian in the State of Oklahoma. The following CP program is located in Oklahoma:

Didactic Programs (DP)

Didactic programs in dietetics are programs that culminate in a bachelor or graduate degree in dietetics. Upon the successful completion of a DPD, you must apply for and complete a dietetic internship (DI), a requirement to sit for the CDR exam and become a licensed dietitian in Oklahoma. The following three DPD programs are located in Oklahoma:

The following bachelors and Master’s programs offer career-focused instruction delivered by trained nutritionists with experience in the field. Find out more what each individual course of study offers through the locations below.

Featured Nutritionist Programs

Back to Top

Step 2

Dietetic Internship (DI) in Oklahoma

Upon the successful completion of an ACEND-accredited didactic education program, you are eligible to apply for and complete a dietetic internship (DI) in Oklahoma. The following four DI programs are located in Oklahoma:

Back to Top

Step 3

Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) Exam

Before you can apply for state licensure as a registered dietician in Oklahoma, you must successfully complete the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) Exam.
Upon the completion of your DI or CP program, your program administrator will provide the CDR with your eligibility status. You can then expect to receive an email with instructions on how to register for the CDR examination and pay the $200 examination fee, both of which can be completed online. You have 365 days from the receipt of the email to register, pay, schedule and complete the examination.

After you pay the examination fee and complete registration, you will receive another email from Pearson VUE asking you to schedule the date, time, and location of your CDR exam at one of its testing centers. Within Oklahoma there are a number of Pearson VUE Testing Centers located in:

  • Norman
  • Oklahoma City
  • Tulsa

You can best prepare to take the CDR exam by reading two publications available from Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics and the CDR: the Comprehensive Study Outline and Study Guide and the Registration Examination for Dietitians Handbook for Candidates.

  1. The CDR examination includes at least 125 questions (145 questions are the maximum), 25 questions of which are pretest questions that must be completed in order for the examination to be scored. As of January 2012, the outline of the CDR exam is as follows:
    1. Principles of Dietetics: 25 percent
    2. Management of Food and Nutrition Programs and Services: 21 percent
    3. Nutrition Care for Individuals and Groups: 40 percent
    4. Foodservices Systems: 14 percent
  2. You must bring a government-issued photo ID and your confirmation email from Pearson VUE to the testing center on the day of your exam. You will be provided with time to familiarize yourself with the computer system and a simple calculator to complete the exam.
  3. You will have 180 minutes to complete the exam. Upon the completion of the exam, you can check your online account for your score. You must score at least 25 (on a scale of 0 to 50) to pass the exam.

If you fail the exam, you must reauthorize to test again by email at [email protected], or by telephone at (312) 899-4859. You must wait 45 days to retake the exam.

Back to Top

Step 4

State Licensure as an RD in Oklahoma

Once you successfully complete the CDR exam, you will be eligible to apply for state licensure and to use the Registered Dietitian (RD) credential. In addition to completing the Online Application for Licensed Dietitian and paying the $120 application fee, you must undergo an Extended Background Check by completing the online EBC Authorization Form. You must also sign the Instructions for Licensed Dietitians and mail it, along with your requested documentation, to:

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision
Post Office Box 18256
Oklahoma City, OK 73154-0256

Back to Top

Step 5

Maintain License and CDR Reg. in Oklahoma

Your dietitian license in Oklahoma must be renewed annually on October 31, and you must pay a renewal fee of $100 at the time of renewal. You can expect to receive a renewal notice and renewal form from the Board about 30 days before the expiration date of your license. Renewal can be done online.

You must also renew your CDR Registration every five years and show proof of at least 75 hours of documented continuing education credits. The CDR’s PDP Guide will help you to choose continuing professional education that is necessary to keep your registration current. CDR’s online CPE database can help you to find approved CPE activities in Alabama.

View how to become a nutritionist in Oklahoma here.

*2021 US Bureau of Labor Statistics salary figures and job growth projections for dietitians and nutritionists reflect state data not school-specific information. Conditions in your area may vary. Salary statistics representing entry-level/early career = 25th percentile; senior-level/highly experienced = 90th percentile. Data accessed April 2022.

Back to Top