Nutrition Jobs Information in Wyoming
Dieticians and nutritionists in Wyoming, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, earned an annual mean salary of $51,860 - $57,870 in May 2012. The annual mean salary nationwide during this time was $56,170.
The industries with the highest level of employment of dieticians and nutritionists, as of May 2012, were: general medical and surgical hospitals, nursing care facilities, and outpatient care centers.
In Wyoming, individuals who want to pursue a license to practice as a registered dietician must complete the following:
RD Education Program in Wyoming
To become a licensed dietician in Wyoming, you must first obtain an education from an accredited college or university. Wyoming law states that all individuals must possess a baccalaureate or post baccalaureate degree with a major course of study in one of the following (or an equivalent major approved by the Wyoming Dietetics Licensing Board):
- Human nutrition
- Nutrition education
- Public health nutrition
- Food and nutrition
- Food systems management
The Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) accredits the following programs in Wyoming:
ACEND-Accredited Programs Leading to a Licensure as a Registered Dietician in Wyoming:
Wyoming has a didactic program in dietetics (DPD), which is a program that that offers a course of study that leads to either an undergraduate or graduate degree. Upon completion of a DPD program, students may apply for a dietetic internship:
If you want to become certified and licensed as a nutritionist in Wyoming, you may pursue a Certified Nutritionist Specialist (CNS) certification through the Certification Board for Nutritional Specialists (CBNS). To achieve CNS certification, you must:
- Earn a Master’s of Science or Doctoral degree in nutrition from an accredited college or university; OR a Doctoral degree in a clinical healthcare field from a regionally accredited college or university
- Complete the following coursework:
- Nutrition (at least 9 semester credit hours)
- Biochemistry (at least 6 semester credit hours)
- Physiology or anatomy/physiology (at least 3 semester credit hours)
- Clinical or life sciences (at least 12 semester credit hours)
- Complete at least 1,000 hours of documented supervised practice experience in nutrition
- Successfully complete the CBNS Certifying Examination
- Re-certify every 5 years, which includes documenting 75 continuing nutrition education credits
American University’s online Master of Science in Nutrition Education will prepare you to become an influential leader in nutrition education and advocacy while promoting nutrition and healthy lifestyle choices in your community. This program does not prepare you to be a registered dietician. However, there are currently registered dieticians in this program for professional development and career advancement.
Back to Top
Apply to a Dietetic Internship in Wyoming
Provided you meet the academic requirements set forth by ACEND, you are eligible to pursue a post-graduate competitive dietetic internship (DI) as to prepare to take the examination for registered dieticians. All dietetic internship programs approved by ACEND provide at least 1,200 hours of supervised practice over 8 to 24 months. Although there are no DI programs in Wyoming, there are a number of options in neighboring states:
- Children’s Hospital Colorado Dietetic Internship, Aurora
- Full-time, 10-month program emphasizing adult acute care and pediatrics
- Tri-County Health Department, Greenwood Village
- Full-time, 11-month program emphasizing public health and community nutrition
- Penrose-St. Francis Health Services, Colorado Springs
- Full-time, 10-month program emphasizing medical nutrition therapy
- University of Northern Colorado, Department of Community Health and Nutrition, Greeley
- Full-time, 9-month program (or part-time, 15-month) emphasizing management, nutrition education, and counseling
Back to Top
Pass the (CDR) Exam in Wyoming
- Upon successfully completing your dietetic internship program, you are eligible to take the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) Examination. You will receive email correspondence from ACT, Inc., the testing service for the CDR, notifying you of your CDR authorization to test. You must register and take the exam within one year of completing your DI program.
- You must register for the examination and pay the application fee of $200.
- Upon receiving your application and application fee, PSI Exams will notify you, via email, that you now must schedule the date and time of your examination. There are over 250 testing sites nationwide to take the CDR Examination. Within Wyoming, there is a PSI Center testing site. Most tests can be taken any time throughout the year, Monday through Friday, depending on the testing center’s hours.
- You can prepare for the CDR examination by reading the Study Guide for the Registration Examination for Dieticians and the Registration Examination for Dieticians Handbook for Candidates.
- On the date of examination, you must bring your confirmation email from PSI Exams, along with your photo identification.
- The CDR examination includes, at a minimum, 125 questions, 100 of which are scored at 25 pretest questions that must be completed for the examination to be scored.
- Although the outline of the exam changes from time to time, the most current content outline (as of January 2012) includes the following components (and their percentage of the test):
You will be given approximately 3 hours to complete the examination, and all students are permitted to familiarize themselves with the computer by taking a tutorial before the examination begins. You are permitted to use a simple calculator during the exam, which is provided for you.
You must answer each question of the exam before moving onto the next question, and you are not permitted to review or change any question or response once you move on.
You will receive your report score before leaving the test center, which includes your scaled score and the scaled score required to pass the examination.
If you fail the exam, you are permitted to retest 45 days after taking the examination. You must contact the Commission on Dietetic Registration (1-800-877-1600 ext. 5500) and be reauthorized to take the exam. There is no limit to the number of times you can retake the examination, although it is important to contact your state board for specific requirements for retesting.
- Food and Nutrition Sciences (12 percent)
- Nutrition Care for Individuals and Groups (50 percent)
- Management of Food and Nutrition Programs and Services (21 percent)
- Foodservice Systems (17 percent)
Back to Top
Licensure as an RD in Wyoming
After passing the CDR exam, you are eligible to become licensed as a registered dietician in Wyoming.
- To apply for state licensure, you must provide the Board with proof of U.S. citizenship by providing a copy of your birth certificate, social security card, or passport.
- The application fee for licensure is $200, and all checks must be made payable to the “State of Wyoming.” Cash in not acceptable, and all fees are non-refundable, regardless of the outcome.
- Complete the application in its entirety and include copies of all requested legal documents. Print the form, and sign and date the application (preferably with blue ink).
- Request the CDR to send the Board an official verification of your credential (312-899-0040 ext. 5500 or email@example.com). All CDR verifications must be sent directly to the Board. You can direct CDR to send it via email to Brenda.Cowley@wyo.gov or via fax to 307-777-3508.
- Mail the application, your proof of U.S. citizenship and your $200 application fee to:
Dietetics Licensing Board
2800 Central Ave
Cheyenne WY 82002
Upon receiving your application for state licensure, the Board will send you a confirmation email. Most applications are reviewed within 2 to 5 business days. Upon approval of your application, you will receive a wall certificate, pocket identification card, and receipt from the Board. You may contact the Board at (307) 777-3628 with any questions regarding the process.
Back to Top
Maintain License and Apply for Additional Certs
Your Wyoming license is valid for two years, and all license renewal applications must be received by the Board no later than 15 days before your license expiration date. At this time, you must pay the renewal fee, complete the application for renewal, and provide proof of your continuing professional education (CPE) requirements. You will receive a renewal notice about 90 days prior to your renewal date.
You must earn at least 30 contact hours of CPE during each renewal period. A contact hour must include no less than 50 minutes of instruction or presentation. For academic courses, one semester credit equals 15 contact hours, and one quarter hour equals 10 contact hours.
You may seek guidance on professional development by referring to the CDR’s Professional Development Portfolio Guide.
You may also seek professional recognition by pursuing one or more of the CDR’s seven certifications:
- Board Certified Specialist in Gerontological Nutrition (CSG)
- Board Certified Specialist in Rental Nutrition (CSR)
- Board Certified Specialist in Sports Dietetics (CSSD)
- Dietetic Technician, Registered (DTR)
- Registered Dietician (RD)
- Board Certified Specialist in Oncology Nutrition (CSO)
- Board Certified Specialist in Pediatric Nutrition (CSP)
Back to Top