The Ohio Board of Dietetics licenses only dieticians in the State of Ohio. However, the Board also recognizes that dieticians may use other working titles to describe their professional focus, such as:
Further, Ohio code states that, by definition, the terms nutritionist and nutrition counselor “tend to indicate that the person is practicing dietetics.”
As such, individuals who want to learn how to become a nutritionist in Ohio should meet the same requirements to become a dietician.
Ohio law’s mandatory licensure law, which became effective on July 1, 1987, states that dieticians must be licensed to practice dietetics. Three, specific areas define dietetic practice in Ohio:
To become a licensed dietician in Ohio, candidates must have completed a bachelor’s degree in nutrition or dietetics, as well as a 900-hour supervised practice experience to attain a limited permit to practice in the State. To qualify for the limited permit, candidates must be planning to take the state-approved examination.
Upon completion of the state-approved examination—the Commission Dietetic Registration for dieticians—dieticians are eligible for a full license. Candidates should contact the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Commission on Dietetic Registration at 1-800-877-1600 for registration and scheduling information.
The cost of an initial license is $125, and the cost of a limited permit license is $65. All applicants, in addition to completing the appropriate application (Application for License to Practice Dietetics or Application for Limited Permit to Practice Dietetics), must complete a criminal background check, which requires submitting fingerprints for a criminal records check to be completed by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
The application and related documentation, which includes a 2x2 photograph and transcripts, must be sent to the Board office at:
Ohio Board of Dietetics
77 South High Street, 18th floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
All licensed dieticians in Ohio are required to renew their license on an annual basis and complete at least 75 hours of continuing education every 5 years. Individuals must submit a log of learning activities that must be approved by the Board. A copy of the log must be submitted directly to the Board and postmarked by June 30 of every year.
On every odd-numbered year, the licensed dieticians must report at least 1 CPE hour in jurisprudence related to current regulations and laws dealing with the practice of dietetics and any recent changes related to these laws, rules, and regulations. Ohio accepts online continuing education courses approved by the Commission on Dietetic Registration on the American Dietetic Association.
Practicing nutrition and nutrition care in Ohio is often done through hospitals, nursing homes, school districts, health departments, and healthcare organizations, just to name a few. Licensed dieticians in Ohio who wish to practice nutrition counseling, education, and/or assessment may therefore find a number of opportunities through the following organizations/businesses:
Job opportunities may also be available by networking through professional associations, such as:
School Nutrition Association of Ohio
Ohio Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Columbus Dietetic Association
Cleveland Dietetic Association
Greater Akron Dietetic Association
Ohio Chapter of Association of Nutrition and Foodservice Professionals
Nutrition Council of Greater Cincinnati