State Requirements for Nutrition and Dietitian Fields


Registered Dietitian job Description in Nebraska

The Department of Health and Human Services in Nebraska, which is part of the Division of Public Health, licenses dietitians in Nebraska. However, unlike other states, Nebraska licenses dietitians as Licensed Medical Nutrition Therapists, with the credential being LMNT.

Nebraska recognizes LMNTs as being registered dietitians who work in the treatment and prevention of disease. Because they administer “medical nutrition therapy,” they are often part of medical teams working in: hospitals, out-patient counseling centers, private practice, HMOs, nursing homes, extended care facilities, and research and academia.

Although these professionals are referred to as licensed medical nutrition therapists in Nebraska, for the purposes of this report, we will use the term “registered dietitian” or “licensed dietitian.”

To become licensed in Nebraska, you must complete a number of steps:

Step 1

Complete an Education in Dietetics in Nebraska

According to Nebraska law, you must possess a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university in one of the following areas (or an equivalent course of study):

  • Food and nutrition
  • Dietetics
  • Human nutrition

This requirement is in line with the Commission of Dietetic Registration (CDR), which requires you to complete a course of study resulting in a bachelor’s or graduate degree from a college or university that is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND).

ACEND-Accredited Dietetic Programs in Nebraska:

  • Within Nebraska, the only ACEND-accredited program is through the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, which offers a Bachelor of Science degree.

    If you want to become a licensed nutritionist in Nebraska, it is important to know that Nebraska does not distinguish between a nutritionist and dietitian and instead only refers to professionals in dietetics and nutrition as Licensed Medical Nutrition Therapists, with the credential being LMNT.
    You may therefore qualify for licensure in the State of Nebraska if you have completed one of the following:

    • A master’s or doctoral degree from an accredited college or university in one of the following:
      • Nutrition education
      • Human nutrition
      • Food and nutrition
      • Public health nutrition
    • A master’s or doctoral degree from an accredited college or university that includes a major course of study in clinical nutrition and includes at least 200 combined hours in biochemistry and physiology and at least 75 hours in human nutrition

    You must apply for licensure in Nebraska as an LMNT if you meet one of the above requirements (see Step 4).


*Featured Master's Nutritionist Program:

UNC's Online MPH With Nutrition Concentration. UNC's top-ranked public health school offers an online MPH with Nutrition concentration. Complete in 20 months. Bachelor's degree required. GRE Required.

American University’s online Master of Science in Nutrition Education will prepare you to become an influential leader in nutrition education and advocacy while promoting nutrition and healthy lifestyle choices in your community. This program does not prepare you to be a registered dietician. However, there are currently registered dieticians in this program for professional development and career advancement.

Benedictine University's Online Master’s Degrees in Nutrition and Wellness programs offer an advanced education in nutrition science with a focus on promoting health and wellness.

Back to Top

Step 2

Dietetic Internship (DI) in Nebraska

Upon completion of your ACEND-accredited educational program, you will be eligible to apply for a competitive dietetic internship (DI) in Nebraska.
All DI programs accredited by ACEND include at least 1,200 hours of supervised practice, which is above the 900 hours of supervised practice required by the Department of Health and Human Services.
There are 2 DI programs in the State of Nebraska:

Back to Top

Step 3

Commission on Dietetic Registration (DCR) Exam

  1. Once you have completed your DI program, you will be contact by ACT Inc., the company that handles the examination for CDR. You will be asked to register to take the exam and pay the $200 examination fee, both of which can be done online. From the time you receive correspondence from ACT, you will have 365 days to register for and take the examination.
  2. After you have registered and paid the registration fee, you will receive an email from PSI Exams, asking you to schedule a date, time, and location for your CDR exam. PSI has more than 250 testing centers across the United States where you can take the exam. Within Nebraska, there is a testing center located in Sidney.
  3. Before taking the CDR exam, it is often a good idea to prepare for the exam by reading the Study Guide for the Registration Examination for Dietitians and the Registration Examination for Dietitians Handbook for Candidates.
  4. The CDR exam is a computer-based, multiple-choice examination that consists of between 125 and 145 questions, 25 of which are pre-test questions that are not scored. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the examination, and you will be given a simple calculator.
  5. Upon completion of the exam, you can immediately view your score by going into your online account and clicking the “report” button. You must score at least 25 on a scale of 0 to 50 to pass the exam.
  6. If you fail the exam, you may retest after 45 days, but you must first obtain authorization to do so from CDR (1-800-877-1600 ext. 5500). Although there are no limits to the number of times you can take the exam, you must wait 45 days between each exam to do so.

Back to Top

Step 4

Apply for a Dietitian License in Nebraska

To obtain a license in Nebraska as an LMNT, you must complete the Application for Licensure and submit it to:

Licensure Unit
Medical Nutrition Therapy
P.O. Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

Licenses are renewed on September 1st of every odd-numbered year. Your application fee will vary based on when you are applying for a license. There is a chart on the application form to determine your application fee based on when you apply. In general, however, the application fee is $114 (made payable to Licensure Unit) and it must be included with your application.         

Back to Top

Step 5

License and CDR Registration in Nebraska

You must renew your license on September 1st of every odd-numbered year. The cost of renewal is $114. To qualify for licensure renewal, you must complete at least 30 hours of approved continuing competency programs/activities during the preceding 24-month period.

To maintain your RD designation through the CDR, you must complete at least 75 continuing education credits and apply for renewal every 5 years. The CDR requires that you track and maintain your continuing education information through the Professional Development Portfolio.

Back to Top

Web Statistics