The State of Alaska recognizes dietetics and nutrition practice as the integration and application of scientific principles of food, food management, nutrition, and biochemistry as to achieve and maintain human health. Only licensed individuals in Alaska are permitted to use the term “nutritionist” or “licensed nutritionist.”
Legislation for Alaska’s nutritionists was created by the Regulation of Dieticians and Nutritionists and was passed by the State legislature and approved by the Governor. Alaska’s Division of Corporation and Professional Licensing oversees the nutritionist licensing program.
To become a licensed nutritionist in Alaska, you must complete a number of steps:
You may qualify for a nutritionist license in Alaska through one of two ways:
Complete a documented work experience in human nutrition or human nutrition research that is at least 900 hours in length;
To earn the CNS credential, you must meet four, specific requirements, which include:
To earn the Diplomate credential through the American Clinical Board of Nutrition, you must meet the following requirements:
Upon completion of the minimum requirements to become a licensed nutritionist in Alaska, you must complete the Application for Nutritionist License and send it, along with a nonrefundable application fee of $50 and a license fee of $50 (made payable to the State of Alaska), and either official verification of your CBNS or ABN certification or your official transcripts and verification of documented work experience to:
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, Alaska 99811
All applications must include a recent photograph (taken within the last 6 months), and they must be notarized.
All nutritionist licenses in Alaska expire on December 31 of every odd-numbered year. To apply for renewal, you must complete the Biennial Nutritionist License Renewal form and pay the renewal fee of $100 ($50 for the application fee and $50 for the nutritionist license renewal fee).