Nutrition Job Info in West Virginia
Dietitians and nutritionists in West Virginia earned a mean annual salary of $50,290 - $51,780 in May 2012. The national annual mean salary for dietitians and nutritionists during this time was $56,170. Becoming a registered dietitian, or RD, is an important step in this profession, as only professionals with the RD title are authorized to do so by the Commission on Dietetic Registration of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, thereby letting others know they have met strict academic and supervised practice requirements.
Becoming a registered dietitian in West Virginia requires a number of specific steps, which includes the following:
Registered Dietitian Degree in West Virginia
According to West Virginia law, you must complete a course of study in human nutrition, dietetics, food systems management, or an equivalent and a baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree.
Dietitian programs in West Virginia must be accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND).
Didactic Programs in Dietetics (DPD) are programs that lead to a bachelor’s or graduate degree. Upon completion of a DPD, you are the eligible to pursue a dietetic internship and write for the CRD Registration examination.
ACEND accredits the following DPD programs in West Virginia:
If you want to become certified and licensed as a nutritionist in West Virginia, you must seek certification as a Certified Nutritionist Specialist (CNS) through the Certification Board for Nutritional Specialists (CBNS).
To achieve CNS certification, you must meet specific academic and supervised experience requirements:
- Academic Requirement
- You must possess either a master’s of science or a doctoral degree from a regionally accredited college or university in the field of nutrition or a doctoral degree in the clinical healthcare field.
- You must complete at least 9 semester credit hours in nutrition; at least 6 semester hours in biochemistry; at least 3 semester credit hours in physiology or anatomy/physiology; and at least 12 semester credit hours in clinical or life sciences
- Supervised Experience Requirement
- You must complete at least 1,000 hours of documented supervised practice experience in nutrition, with minimum hours in each of the following:
- Nutrition assessment (200 hours)
- Nutrition intervention, education, counseling, or management (200 hours)
- Nutrition monitoring or evaluation (200 hours)
You must then successfully complete the CNBS Certifying Examination and document at least 75 continuing nutrition education credits every 5 years to qualify for re-certification.
American University’s online Master of Science in Nutrition Education will prepare you to become an influential leader in nutrition education and advocacy while promoting nutrition and healthy lifestyle choices in your community. This program does not prepare you to be a registered dietician. However, there are currently registered dieticians in this program for professional development and career advancement.
Back to Top
Dietetic Internship (DI) in West Virginia
Once you completed an ACEND-approved didactic program, you are eligible to apply for a post-graduate competitive dietetic internship (DI). All DI appointments are awarded on a competitive basis.
West Virginia requires all DI programs to include at least 1,200 hours of supervised practice over a period of 8 to 24 months. Upon completion of an ACEND-approved DI program, you will then be eligible to write for the CDR examination for dietitians.
The following ACEND-approved DI programs are located in West Virginia;
Back to Top
Pass the (CDR) Exam in WV
- After completing your DI program, you will then be notified by ACT, Inc., CDR’s testing agency, to register to take the CDR examination, a computer-based, multiple-choice examination. You must register and take the CDR examination within one year (365) days of completing your DI program.
- You must complete the application and pay the application fee of $200.
- You will receive an email confirmation of your application from PSI Exams, at which time you will be required to choose a date, location and time to take the CDR exam. There are more than 250 locations nationwide where you can take the CDR exam. In West Virginia, there is a PSI Exams testing center in Bridgeport.
- You can prepare for the CDR examination by reading the Study Guide for the Registration Examination for Dietitians and the Registration Examination for Dietitians Handbook for Candidates.
- On exam day, you must bring the confirmation email from PSI Exams and your government-issued identification with you.
- The CDR exam consists of 125 questions, 25 of which are pretest questions that are not scored. The exam consists of four domains, which include:
- Food and Nutrition Sciences
- Nutrition Care for Individuals and Groups
- Management of Food and Nutrition Programs and Services
- Foodservice Systems
- The test time limit is 2 ½ hours, although you will have 30 minutes to familiarize yourself with the computer beforehand. You will also be given a simple computer to complete the test.
- Following the test, you will be immediately notified if you passed. If you did not pass you may retest after 45 days, provided you have re-registered with, and paid the registration fee to, the Commission on Dietetic Registration. There is no limit to the number of times you can take the exam, provided you wait 45 days between testing dates.
Back to Top
Licensure as an RD in West Virginia
- Upon passing the CDR exam, you can apply for state licensure as a registered dietitian in West Virginia by completing the application and enclosing a personal check or money order for $50, payable to the West Virginia Board of Licensed Dietitians.
- You must verify your standing as a registered dietitian by the CDR by including a notarized photo copy of your CDR card or a letter from the Commission on Dietetic Registration.
- The completed application, application fee, and appropriate documentation must be sent to:
West Virginia Board of Licensed Dietitians
723 Kanawha Boulevard East
Room 105 – Union Building
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
- If you have any questions regarding the application process, you can contact the Board at 304-926-3719 or at 1-800-293-9832.
Back to Top
Maintain your License in West Virginia
You must renew your West Virginia license every year. You must complete the renewal form (provided by the Board), pay the renewal fee, and complete at least 20 hours of continuing professional education every 2 years.
Documentation of continuing professional education must be submitted with your renewal application every 2 years. Documentation is not required on intervening years.
The following organizations are approved by the Board for continuing professional education:
- West Virginia Dietetic Association
- Any national, state or district dietetic associations
- The American Medical Association
- The West Virginia Medical Association
- The American Nurses Association
- Accredited schools and colleges
All other providers must be approved by the board at least 45 days before the commencement of the course or program.
Back to Top