Follow the step by step process or choose what situation that best describes you:
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, dietitians and nutritionists in Vermont earned a median annual salary of between $51,860 and $57,870 in May 2012. During the same time, the median annual salary for dietitians and nutritionists nationwide was $56,170.
Registered dietitians (RDs) are experts in food and nutrition, and their work requires them to translate the science of nutrition into practical solutions using evidence-based research. Dietitians in Vermont are governed by the Advisor model of regulation created by the Legislature. Vermont certifies RDs to practice in the State of Vermont.
To become a certified and registered dietitian in Vermont, you must complete a number of steps:
Under Vermont law, you must obtain a minimum of a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university to become a registered and certified dietitian. Coursework within a program approved by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) typically includes the following: microbiology; food and nutrition sciences; business; economics; computer science; sociology; food services systems management; biochemistry; physiology; and chemistry.
ACEND-Approved Programs Leading to Registered Dietitian (RD) Certification in Vermont:
A dietetic program in Vermont may either be a Coordinated Program (CP) or a Didactic Program (DP).
CP programs offer a comprehensive program in dietetics, which includes supervised practice through a dietetic internship (DI). As such, you are eligible to complete the CDR exam upon completed of a CP.
A DP program culminates in either an undergraduate or graduate degree, but does not include a DI. Upon completion of a DP, you must apply for a DI to qualify to take the CDR exam and become a registered dietitian.
The University of Vermont, Burlington offers both a CP (MSD with an emphasis on community health and nutrition) and a DP (Bachelor of Science degree).
Although Vermont does not certify or license nutritionists, if you want to become a licensed nutritionist in Maryland you must earn the Certified Nutritionist Specialist (CNS) designation through the Certification Board for Nutritional Specialists (CBNS).
To do so you must:
Provided you meet eligibility requirements, you will then be required to site for the CBNS Certifying exam. You will be required to complete at least 75 continuing education hours and re-certify every 5 years to maintain your CNS credential.
Upon successfully completing an ACEND-approved didactic program, you will be required to apply to, and successfully complete, a supervised practice program through an ACEND-approved DI.
Although there are no DI programs in Vermont, the following ACEND-approved DI programs are located in nearby New Hampshire:
After passing the CDR exam, you must apply for certification to practice in the State of Vermont. You must complete the Application for Dietitian Certification and pay the non-refundable processing fee of $100. You will also be required to ask the school where you received your dietetic degree to send a set of certified, sealed transcripts.
Send your completed application, application fee, and a copy of your CDR membership card, to:
Vermont Secretary of State
Office of Professional Regulation
National Life Building, North Floor 2
Montpelier, VT 05620-3402
Maintaining your Vermont Certification
You must complete at least 30 continuing education credits every two years to qualify to renew your certification in Vermont. However, you are not required to meet the continuing education requirements upon renewing your dietitian certification for the first time.
Maintaining your Registration as a Registered Dietician in Vermont
You must also maintain your CDR Professional Development Portfolio by completing at least 75 continuing education units every 5 years. You must complete a learning plan online through CDR before participating in any continuing education.
You may achieve continuing education credits by completing: