Follow the step by step process or choose what situation that best describes you:
The mean annual salary for registered dietitians and nutritionists in Utah was $56,170, as of May 2010. Further, the top-paying industries (mean, annual salary) for dietitians and nutritionists during the same time were:
Registered dietitians (RDs) in Utah are experts in food and nutrition, and their jobs often require them to assess the health and dietary needs of patients; educate others on nutrition issues; develop and evaluate meal plans; and promote better nutrition for preventing and managing specific diseases.
To practice as an RD in Utah, you must receive certification through the Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing, which requires completing the following steps:
To become a certified and registered dietician in Utah you must, under Utah law, earn a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university and complete a major course of study in the following (or an equivalent course of study):
ACEND-Accredited Programs Leading to Registered Dietitian in Utah:
Your bachelor or master’s degree in dietetics must be accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND), and programs may either be Coordinated Programs (CP) or Didactic Programs (DP).
Coordinated Programs in Utah
Coordinated programs in dietetics are comprehensive programs that include a course of study leading to a bachelor’s or master’s degree, as well as supervised practice of at least 900 hours. Upon completion of a CP in Utah, you are eligible to write for the CDR exam to become a registered dietitian (see Step 3). The following ACEND-accredited coordinated programs are located in Utah:
Didactic Programs in Utah
Didactic programs lead to an undergraduate or graduate degree in dietetics. Upon completion of a didactic program in Utah, you must then apply to an ACEND-approved dietetic internship (see Step 2) to qualify to sit for the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) examination. The following ACEND-accredited didactic programs are located in Utah:
If you want to become a certified nutritionist in Utah and obtain the Certified Nutrition Specialist (CNS) designation through the Certification Board for Nutritional Specialists (CBNS), you must possess the following:
You must then pass the CBNS examination to receive your CNS designation. This certification requires you to recertify and complete at least 75 continuing nutrition education credits every 5 years.
Once you have successfully completed a didactic program in dietetics, you must apply for and complete supervised practice in dietetics through a dietetic internship (DI). Dietetic internships, which must be accredited by ACEND, offers, at a minimum, 1,200 hours of supervised practice over a period of 8 to 24 months, depending on whether they are part-time or full-time programs.
The following ACEND-accredited DI programs are located in Utah:
To qualify for state certification as a registered dietitian in Utah, you must provide the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing (DOPL) with a completed and signed Application for Certified Dietitian, a copy of your CDR card and submit an application-processing fee of $60 made to the DOPL.
Send the completed application, fee, and related documents to:
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
Post Office Box 146741
Salt Lake City UT 84114
You can contact the DOPL at 801-530-6628 or 1-866-275-3675 (toll-free in Utah) if you have any questions regarding the application process.
To maintain your state certification to practice as a dietitian in Utah, you must re-certify biennially on September 30 of each even year and pay the renewal fee of $37. Certification is NOT based on the initial date of certification.
The DOPL does not require continuing professional education or current CDR registration to renew your Utah certification. You can renew your certification online here.