Follow the step by step process or choose what situation that best describes you:
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the annual, mean salary for dietitians and nutritionists in Tennessee was $50,209 to $51,780. The industries with the highest levels of employment for dietitians and nutritionists, as of May 2012, were: general medical and surgical hospitals; nursing care facilities; outpatient care centers; local government; and personal care services.
The Board of Dietitians/Nutritionists Examiners, which was enacted by the State Legislature in 1987, requires that all individuals practicing as dietitians or nutritionists be qualified. The titles “dietitian” and “nutritionist,” according to the Board, can be used interchangeably.
To become qualified to practice as a dietitian/nutritionist in Tennessee, you must complete a number of steps:
To qualify to become a registered dietitian (RD) and apply for licensure in Tennessee, you must first complete an educational program that results in a bachelor’s or graduate degree in food and nutrition, human nutrition, dietetics, or food systems (or an equivalent) from that is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND).
All educational programs in Tennessee are Didactic Programs, which are programs that result in an undergraduate or graduate degree. Upon the completion of a didactic program, you will need to apply for a competitive dietetic internship (DI) in Tennessee (See Step 2).
ACEND-Accredited Programs Leading to Registered Dietitian (RD) Licensure in Tennessee:
The following dietetics programs in Tennessee are accredited by ACEND:
Upon the successful completion of a didactic program in dietetics, you must apply to and complete a dietetic internship (DI) accredited by ACEND. All ACEND-accredited programs offer at least 1,200 hours of supervised practice (Tennessee law states that a course of supervised practice through a DI must be at least 900 hours).
The following ACEND-accredited DI programs are located in Tennessee:
Upon the successful completion of a DI program, you must take the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) Examination.
After passing the CDR exam, you may apply for licensure as a registered dietitian/nutritionist in Tennessee. You must complete the Licensure Application, have it notarized, and send it, along with the $140 application fee (check or money order made payable to the State of Tennessee), to:
State of Tennessee
Department of Health
Health Related Boards
Heritage Place, Metro Center
227 French Landing, Suite 300
Nashville, TN 37243
A signed, passport-style photograph (taken within the last 12 months), your CDR (notarized), and one letter of recommendation from a professional attesting to your personal character and professional ethics must be included with your application. You must also ask your institution to send your official transcripts directly to the Board.
You can contact the Board of Dietitians/Nutritionist Examiners at 615-532-3202/1-800-778-4123 if you have any questions about applying for licensure.
Tennessee Licensure Renewal
Continuing education for license renewal is not mandatory in Tennessee. However, the Board recognizes “continuing competency,” so all dietitians/nutritionists are encouraged to attend and participate in professional continuing education programs.
You must renew your dietitian/nutritionist license every two years, on the last day of your birthday month. You can renew your license online through Tennessee’s Department of Health online renewal system. The cost of online renewal is $90.
CDR Registration Renewal
To maintain your CDR Registration, you must complete at least 75 continuing educational units every 5 years to qualify for renewal. You can track your CPEs and learn more about the renewal process by maintaining a CDR Professional Development Portfolio.