Follow the step by step process or choose what situation that best describes you:
Oklahoma dietitians and nutritionists, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, earned an annual mean salary of between $32,410 and $50,280 in May 2012.
ccording to the Oklahoma Medical Board, dietitians are called upon to “apply and integrate scientific principles of nutrition” as to provide proper nourishment, care and education to specific individuals or groups.
Dietitians practicing in Oklahoma must be licensed, according to the Licensed Dietitian Act. To become a registered and licensed dietitian in Oklahoma, you must complete the following steps:
According to the Oklahoma Medical Board, you must complete a course of study in dietetics that results in a bachelor or graduate degree from a regionally accredited college or university. Your education must include a minimum of 24 semester hours in the following areas (or an equivalent course of study):
The requirements are in line with the requirements set forth by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND), which require you to complete an ACEND-accredited course of study to qualify to sit for the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) exam and become a Registered Dietician (RD) in Oklahoma.
ACEND-Accredited Programs in Oklahoma:
There are two types of programs in Oklahoma that meet the requirements of the Oklahoma Medical Board are ACEND-accredited:
Coordinated Programs (CP)
Coordinated programs (CPs) are programs that include both a course of study leading to a bachelor or graduate degree and supervised practice of at least 1,200 hours. Upon completion of a CP, you are eligible to sit for the CDR exam and earn the RD credential, which is a requirement for becoming licensed as a dietitian in the State of Oklahoma. The following CP program is located in Oklahoma:
Didactic Programs (DP)
Didactic programs in dietetics are programs that culminate in a bachelor or graduate degree in dietetics. Upon the successful completion of a DP, you must apply for and complete a dietetic internship (DI), a requirement to sit for the CDR exam and become a licensed dietitian in Oklahoma. The following DP programs are located in Oklahoma:
If you want to become a certified nutritionist in Oklahoma, you must pursue certification as a Certified Nutrition Specialist (CNS) through the Certification Board for Nutritional Specialists (CBNS). Because Oklahoma does not license nutritionists, this specialty certification will allow you to achieve recognition for meeting specific education and practice requirements. To sit for the CBNS certifying examination and achieve the CNS credential, you must show proof of:
To maintain your CNS designation, you must complete at least 75 continuing education credits and re-certify every 5 years.
Upon the successful completion of am ACEND-accredited didactic education program, you are eligible to apply for and complete a dietetic internship (DI) in Oklahoma. The following DI programs are located in Oklahoma:
Before you can apply for state licensure as a registered dietician in Oklahoma, you must successfully complete the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) Exam.
Once you successfully complete the CDR exam, you will be eligible to apply for state licensure and to use the Registered Dietitian (RD) credential. In addition to completing the Online Application for Licensed Dietitian and paying the $120 application fee (the link is found on the Allied Professionals Registration website.), there are a number of documents you must complete to apply for state licensure as an RD. You can download, print and complete the following documents here:
After completing all related documents, you must send them to:
Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision
Post Office Box 18256
Oklahoma City, OK 73154
Your dietitian license in Oklahoma must be renewed annually on October 31, and you must pay a renewal fee of $100 at the time of renewal. You can expect to receive a renewal notice and renewal form from the Board about 30 days before the expiration date of your license.
You must also renew your CDR Registration every 5 years and show proof of at least 75 hours of documented continuing education credits.